Rugby World Cup Final: New Zealand and Australia to dazzle at Twickenham

first_imgKick-Off: 16:00 GMTVenue: TwickenhamNew Zealand are aiming to become the first team ever to retain the Rugby World Cup when they meet Australia in Saturday’s sell-out Twickenham final.It will be the first time the All Blacks and Australia – the world’s top-ranked sides – have met in the final.Both are double winners but no country has won the tournament three times.The build-up to the final has seen both nations throw their weight behind their quest for victory, with the Sydney Opera House illuminated in green and gold and the slogan “Go Wallabies”. The two countries’ national airlines have also agreed a wager that their crews will wear opposing rugby jerseys on Monday should their team lose.The eighth Rugby World Cup has been dominated by the southern hemisphere over its six weeks, with Argentina and South Africa knocked out in the semi-finals, while hosts England failed to progress from the group stage.How New Zealand made the World Cup final?POOL STAGE New Zealand 26 Argentina 16New Zealand 58 Namibia 14New Zealand 43 Georgia 10New Zealand 47 Tonga 9 QUARTER FINALNew Zealand 62 France 13SEMI FINALNew Zealand 20 South Africa 18 How Australia made the World Cup finalPOOL STAGEAustralia 28 Fiji 13Australia 65 Uruguay 3 Australia 33 England 13Australia 15 Wales 6QUARTER FINALAustralia 35 Scotland 34SEMI FINAL Australia 29 Argentina 15What are the teams?New Zealand: Ben Smith; Nehe Milner-Skudder, Conrad Smith, Ma’a Nonu, Julian Savea; Dan Carter, Aaron Smith; Kieran Read, Richie McCaw (capt), Jerome Kaino; Sam Whitelock, Brodie Retallick; Owen Franks, Dane Coles, Joe Moody.Replacements: Keven Mealamu, Ben Franks, Charlie Faumuina, Victor Vito, Sam Cane, Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Beauden Barrett, Sonny Bill Williams.Australia: Israel Folau; Adam Ashley-Cooper, Tevita Kuridrani, Matt Giteau, Drew Mitchell; Bernard Foley, Will Genia; David Pocock, Michael Hooper, Scott Fardy; Rob Simmons, Kane Douglas; Sekope Kepu, Stephen Moore (capt), Scott Sio.Replacements: Tatafu Polota-Nau, James Slipper, Greg Holmes, Dean Mumm, Ben McCalman, Nick Phipps, Matt Toomua, Kurtley Beale–Follow Joy Sports on Twitter: @Joy997FM. Our hashtag is #JoySportslast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *